blog, life

I don’t want to

I can’t imagine what it must be like to be old & confused.  I have a customer who appeared in our shop doorway alone & bewildered this morning.  He’d been in our shop an hour before with his wife.  He’d lost her and was becoming tearful.  His wife had put him in their car but he’d forgotten & got out.  He’d walked the length of our mall before landing at our shop.  His wife was in her bank & had no idea he was lost.  I’m so very glad he ended up in our shop.  We were able to keep him safe until his wife was located.  He could have been my Dad or yours.  He had no idea where he was & yet he knew my name.  He just didn’t know where from.   They’re a lovely couple who have spent their adult lives together.  His wife instead of having a partner has become his carer.  Thank God we don’t know whats around the corner for us.  I do know I don’t want to become old & yet the mirror tells me I am lol.  I’m known for zipping myself up within a purple bubble where nothing can hurt me.  I wasn’t designed to be an adult & yet sometimes I feel hugely responsible for people I hardly know.  Yep, I became a responsible adult.  I don’t know how the fuck that happened.  It slipped in without my noticing, a bit like compassion.

So, my working day has been & gone.   Its a cold, miserable day despite our summer time just beginning.  I looked out my window this morning to be greeted by snow.  Yeh, summer has arrived.  Kids were slow to start this morning which meant a queue for the bathroom (ggggrrrrrr).  My mobile network was down  (thanks EE).  That meant I could go to work without checking texts or emails. I made it to work on time & was greeted happily by Mr Manager,.  Its so nice when people park their moods in neutral.  I don’t expect a happy vibe but a smile goes a long way for me.  Football practice tonight so its an early dinner.  Pretty dull day but at least I remember it all & that I do appreciate.

Jacq

Comments welcome

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.