Tasty dinner

When I was growing up my Dad made a great dinner of stovies.  I have no idea where the dish originates from but for our family it was just another dinner.  I haven’t cooked it in years but this morning when I wakened up I could smell it.  It was like someone was cooking a pot of stovies (??).  I’m not even sure I can cook it haha.  Last time I tried the sausages fell apart.  It looked like a pot of dog food.  It tasted fantastic but it looked crap.  My Dad’s way of cooking it was sliced potatoes, lorne sausages & onions.  Simply simmer in a pot together for a couple of hours, add a couple of oxo cubes because we were an oxo family & bung it on a plate.  Happy memories.  When I cooked it I just left out the onions.  I might make it this week, just to give myself a smile of a memory.

 

Comments welcome

