Stay real

I had a conversation with my youngest son about autism this morning.  I told him that you can be okay but not okay & that’s okay.  In a heartbeat he said he understood.  I cannot say whether or not Nicky is on the autistic spectrum.  I want to prepare him just in case.  His psychologist thinks it’ll be difficult to get him to attend CAHMS again.  I’m of the opinion that since it him he should know whats going on.  I prefer to be open & honest.  I like keeping things real.  A 18th Centuary writer once wrote “We discover in ourselves what others hide from us, and we recognise in others what we hide from ourselves”  In all things I want to be honest with my kids & stay real.  I’m not sure how much of what I said to Nicky actually made sense to him.  I want the world to know that I’m okay… but I’m not okay…and that’s okay.  It’s called being human & I recognise that fact.  Whatever becomes of Nicky I will always have his back.  For today, that’s all he needs 🙂

 

Comments welcome

